Space Invaders

This post has absolutely NOTHING to do with grammar, spelling, English, pronunciation or anything remotely connected to any of those subjects..

In 1978 Taito released a game called Space Invaders, this game indirectly led to me to spend far more time than was probably recommended at the Bowling Alley playing said game on the arcade machines, I do not even CARE to think of how much money I spent playing this game, I think my Mother would have been horrified to learn the reality.

In 1979 an Australian group called Player One released a song to cash in on the craze that was sweeping the country, it was called, Space Invaders, I LOVED this song with a passion, it was written by Brown and Dunlop and all I know is that apparantly Player One consisted of well known music producers and engineers of the time, they are a group shrouded in mystery, I am intrigued.

For your delectation, the lyrics for Space Invaders, the 12 inch version, which is the one I have on my iPod.

Space Invaders:

(c) Brown and Dunlop
(Long intro Music, various space invader sound effects)

Through dark sunken eyes
I see another pale sunrise
surrounded by soldiers
glued to the screens
hold back the invaders
their infernal machines.

We fight to survive
running to stay alive
our bodies aching and tired
there’s no where to hide
our covers’ been blown away

Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders ooooooooooh

They’re closing in on me
dark forces cold and unseen
Oh my hip pocket nerve is aching again
I must go back in and fight it out to the end

Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders ooooooooooh

(musical interlude, more space invader sound effects)

They’re closing in on me
dark forces cold and unseen
Oh my hip pocket nerve is aching again
I must go back in and fight it out the end.

We fight to survive
running to stay alive
our bodies aching and tired
there’s no where to hide
our covers’ been blown away

Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
We fight to survive
Space Invaders
running just to stay alive
Space Invaders
oooh oooh ooohh hooo
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
oooh hoo hoo hoo
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
oooh hoo hoo hooo
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders
Space Invaders (fade)

Pure pure late 70’s classic pop/cheese..  Love it.

3 responses to “Space Invaders

Leave a Reply

