I Go To Pieces- Peter And Gordon

Peter Asher and Gordon Waller were one of the most successful British pop duos of the 60’s, Paul McCartney wrote several songs for them that went to Number one, including the lovely  World Without Love, they had a cheeky hit with the song Lady Godiva which was rather risque for the era.

This song was written by the great Del Shannon who gave it to them after they toured together.

I Go To Pieces

When I see her comin’ down the street
I get so shaky and I feel so weak
I tell my eyes look the other way
But they don’t seem to hear a word I say

And I, go to pieces and I wanna hide
Go to pieces and I almost die
Everytime my baby passes by

I tell my arms they’ll hold someone new
Another love that will be true
But they don’t listen, they don’t seem to care
They reach for her but she’s not there

And I, go to pieces and I wanna hide
Go to pieces and I almost die
Everytime my baby passes by

I remember what she said when she said
“Goodbye baby. We’ll meet again soon maybe”
“But until we do, all my best to you”
I’m so lonely, I think about her only

I go to places we used to go
But I know she’ll never show
She hurt me so much inside
Now I hope she’s satisfied

And I, go to pieces and I wanna hide
Go to pieces and I almost die
Everytime my baby passes by
Go to pieces and I cry
Everytime my baby passes by
Go to pieces and I cry

Leave a Reply

