Judy in Disguise (With Glasses)- John Fred and His Playboy Band

is a song that was a hit for the Louisiana-based John Fred and His Playboy Band in early 1968. The song was co-written with bandmate Andrew Bernard. According to The Billboard Book of Number One Hits by Fred Bronson, the song was inspired by Fred’s listening to The Beatles‘ hit, “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds.” He mistakenly believed the lyrics to the Beatles’ song were “Lucy in disguise with diamonds” and was disappointed when he read the liner notes. “Judy in Disguise” went on to knock “Hello, Goodbye,” another Beatles tune, off the number-one spot on the Billboard Hot 100 for two weeks in January 1968.

Judy In Disguise

Judy in disguise, well that’s what you are
Lemonade pie with a brand new car
Cantalope eyes come to me tonight
Judy in disguise, with glasses

Keep a-wearing your bracelets and your new rah rah
Cross your heart with your living bra
A chilly sweet sparrow with guise
Judy in disguise, with glasses

Come to me tonight, come to me tonight
I’ve taken everything in sight
Unzipper the strings of my kite
Judy in disguise, hey that’s what you are
Lemonade pie, hey got your brand new car
Cantalope eyes come to me tonight
Judy in disguise, with glasses

Come to me tonight, come to me tonight
I’ve taken everything in sight, unzipper the strings of my kite
(Oh, Uh oh, Uhhh)
Judy in disguise, what you aiming for
A circus or a holiday, that’s what you are
You make me laugh about you
I guess I’ll just take your glasses

Leave a Reply

