Bird Of Prey- Alley Cat

This is one of my favourite songs from the 70’s ever, it was a minor hit collectively in Australia, lasting one whole week in the Top 40, but it charted at #2 on the Hobart hit charts and stayed there for several weeks, it was also a charting hit in the Launceston Top 40.

Written by Mike Batt and Ben Findon and originally released on Lark Records (a European label by the looks of it). It was released on the EMI label in Australia.

It was very hard to get the Internets to admit that this song existed and it took me years to track down, since it shares a name with several other more popular songs by mainstream bands.

Bird Of Prey

The sun was hot, she was cool
Followed me after school

And she was like a bird of prey
She took me up and flew away

Flying high on her own
Fingernails overgrown

And all I wanted was to die
When she came screaming from the sky

Like a hawk at break of day
Eagle-eyed she’ll make her play
She took me up and flew away
Hey, hey, hey, bird of prey

Flashing eyes burning bright
Telling eyes in the night

And all I wanted was to die
When she came screaming from the sky

Like a hawk at break of day
Eagle-eyed she’ll make her play
She took me up and flew away
Hey, hey, hey, bird of prey

Like a hawk at break of day
Like a hawk at break of day
Like a hawk of break of day

One response to “Bird Of Prey- Alley Cat

  • Mark Spooner

    I grew up in Launceston and I remember this song well. I finally tracked down the single and bought it. I agree with you about the internet not wanting to know about it! It’s a great tune. I am pretty sure it originated in Belgium. I would love to know more about its history, it has been one of the great musical mysteries of my life!

    Like

Leave a Reply

