Computer One – Dear Enemy

I come bearing gifts from the 1980’s, Dear Enemy and Computer One, this song came out in 1983, one year after I had bought my very first computer, an original grey case  Tandy TRS-80 with 16k of RAM. I loved that computer so much, I pretty much spent all my money on games for this beastie, and boy were they expensive for the time.  My computer saved my sanity so many times during a rather tumultuous period of my live, and saved my life literally on more than one occasion.

This song made it to only number 5 on the Countdown chart, I thought it deserved to go much higher. Dear Enemy were a highly regarded band on the indie circuit and this sadly was their only charting song. Pity.

Computer One

Computer One I’d like to ask a question please
Exactly where does love go wrong
I thought she knew how much she meant to me
I turned around to see and she was gone

So tell me Computer One
Why did she run
Where has she gone
Computer One

Computer One, if you know all you say you do
Why isn’t the answer on the screen
Do you sleep at night when the programs through
Or do you like awake at night like me

So tell me Computer One
Why did she run
Where has she gone
Computer One

Computer One, you are the one I’ve been talking to
And maybe that’s where I went wrong
All the secrets that I told to you
I should have told to her all along

So tell me Computer One
Why did she run
Where has she gone
Computer One

( I transcribed the lyrics from listening to the video clip, so excuse any errors)

4 responses to “Computer One – Dear Enemy

  • manabrau

    awesome song! thanks for posting the lyrics…

    though i think that

    “Do you sleep at night when the cold whips through”

    should be

    “Do you sleep at night when the program’s through”

    ^_^

    Like

  • Walker

    Wow.

    This seems the only place to find the lyrics. Wondered how it would translate to guitar.

    I’m of the vintage. My first real computer was a xerox 820 ii running cp/m. Considered lame throughout the rest of the 80s but I have such warm memories of it.

    For an all aussie made music related 80s computer trip, google “fairlight CMI”

    (You’ll also find one in an ice house film clip, I’ll leave it to you to dig it up…)

    I’m a year late but thanks for this post, made my day.

    Like

  • Garner

    I used to have this record on vinyl long time ago, with inner sleeve lyrics. Manabrau is right, the line should be “when the program’s through”.
    Just my two cents 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

